Mad About Men by Madelyn Morgan


Note: for this review I will use some strong language and will discuss an adult book. If you’re too young or don’t have the permission to be reading strong language, to be reading about sex, or to be reading about adult issues then please don’t read this review or the book. I don’t want angry parents breathing down my neck. And if you’re just generally uncomfortable with reading about those things then check out my other blog posts =].

Rating: 5/5
Genre: Memoir…. Menmoir
Recommended Age: 18+
Favorite Quote: “I need therapy c***. And I would like a therapy c*** license that would permit me to travel with a hot trainer on my lap.”
I was provided a copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest review. This arrangement didn’t influence my decision in any way.
Madelyn Morgan writes an open and honest discussion about the events that transpired relating to her dating life after her husband leaves her and her mother and sister pass away. She relates her adventure through love, loss, sex, online dating, and repeat. Root for her (or judge her) as she weaves through hot male nurses, tinder dates, match.com dates, flight attendants, and many others. 
So when I was first contacted by the author of this book I wasn’t sure what to expect. I read about it a little bit and thought “oh cool a book about dating that’s actually real”. I have always had issues with dating. Yes, I’m married and happily at that, but I’ve had a sordid past involving dating and I always hated how relationships seemed to be protrayed​ on TV. What I mean by that is when the two people you’ve been shipping finally get together… That’s it. They get together and live happily ever after. For a lot of us that fairy tale ending ends very quickly. And I believe that’s why I felt such a connection with the author and her book, because we both know how fleeting a happily ever after is… And what the aftermath of ever after looks like. Sometimes it’s filled with hot sex with a bunch of men. Sometimes it’s filled with endless swiping on apps and wading through the thousands of men on dating sites. Sometimes you find a bit of happiness again and sometimes your pumpkin turns into a carriage… again… multiple times in my case. The point of my ramblings are that whatever your search may look like or have looked like, I think this book is one of the best books you can read. It’s not a self help book and it’s not Eat, Pray, Love, but it’s the type of book you read and you feel like you’re talking to your best friend, the type of best friend that’ll tell you honestly that you’re in a crappy relationship and the type of best friend that can be vulgar at times with you. You feel like the author is reaching out to you like she does with Chloe in the book and you just want to reach back out to her to spill your dating nightmares back at her. It’s also the type of book that has a genuine sense of humor about it. The humor isn’t forced to the reader and it just flows naturally off the pages. The writing style is superb and I loved how the words just flowed seemlessly off of the pages. This book is a very relatable book for women of any relationship phase. I really can’t say enough good things about this book! 
I try very hard to have some positives and some negatives in my reviews because I feel it makes for a more balanced review. I have sat on my bed typing this review out on my phone because I’m too lazy to move to the computer and I’m having a hard time finding bad things to say about this book. I loved it so much and I honestly felt like it was the best book I’ve read about relationships and dating. It was very raw and it had a “best friend confessional” feel about it. I guess I could say that I didn’t want the book to end and that I wanted more of the author’s  story. I could also say that the book made me feel like I had a new best friend and now that the book is over I feel a little sad that the “best friend” is gone. Those are the only real negatives about this book. You will become attached to the author and you will be sad when the book is over. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll scream obscenities when someone is rude or an asshole to the author. This is a book that everyone needs to read. It’s not a self-help book, it’s not just for women, and it’s not Eat, Pray, Love or The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. It’s an honest conversation with your new best friend who will tell you everything about her dating and sex life without a filter because it’s therapeutic for her and for the reader. And that’s why you should read it.

One thought on “Mad About Men by Madelyn Morgan

Leave a Reply

