Waiting for the Beast by T. Hayden

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Genre: YA Fantasy

 

Recommended Age: 16+ (some language and sexual content, not graphic)

 

Favorite Quote: “Calling all supernatural’s from the Abyssal Realm. The princess is here in Macy’s. Assistance from all divisions are needed. Beware her guardian angel is here. Have a nice day!”

 

I received this book as a gift from the author. This did not influence my decision in any way.

 

Have you ever watched movies like Rosemary’s Baby? Movies that explore what would happen if the antichrist was born? Have you ever watched movies about angels, like Dogma or Legion? Whether you believe in that or not, it’s an interesting topic to explore to say the least. This is the topic that Waiting for the Beast explores, except the antichrist is not what the seers claim it to be. The antichrist is a bubbly 16 year old girl who loves to go to school and loves life. When her aunt mysteriously falls ill, she becomes telepathic, and begins seeing strange supernatural beings, she learns the truth about her existence and must deal with her supernatural life and her teenage life.

 

This is becoming a very bad trend, but I find myself not reading the back cover blurb before I read the books. I’m enjoying this bad habit I’m developing because I feel if I read the back cover blurb of this book I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much as I did. I enjoyed the twists and turns the book offered. I generally found the book to be a great and easy read. The book was also very insightful, in that the message was your birth does not define you. You can be who you want to be as long as you make the decision.

 

However, this book did have a lot of downfalls. The pacing was very weird throughout the book. Sometimes the book jumped months or years at a time and sometimes the book slowed down to give a day-by-day account. The plot was decent, but because of the pacing the development of the plot was a bit wonky. The book was very dialogue heavy and, because of that, some of the characters were not very developed until later in the book. I’m also not sure if it was my NOOK acting up or not (because it is 6 years old and getting replaced soon)  but there was a lot of missing quotation marks at the beginning of quotes. It made the story hard to follow because I would have to stop and reread a lot of the text. Besides that error, the quality of writing was decent.

 

Overall, this would be an enjoyable read. It’s a refreshing read in a book world full of fairytale retellings and an interesting read on angels and demons. This will be a series I will wait with baited breath to finish!

Leave a Reply

