Asleep by Krystal Wade


Rating: 5/5

 

Genre: YA Thriller/ YA Mystery

 

Recommended Age: 16+ (some language and some mature scenes)

 

Favorite Quote: “Leah Briar pushed too hard, made Rose disappear, and one day she snapped.”

 

I was provided a free copy of this book as a rep for Blaze Publishing. This did not sway my opinions in any way.

 

“To cure fear, you must use fear.” Rose Briar claims no responsibility for the act that led to her imprisonment in an asylum. She wants to escape, until terrifying nightmares make her question her sanity and reach out to her doctor. He’s understanding and caring in ways her parents never have been, but as her walls tumble down and Rose admits fault, a fellow patient warns her to stop the medications. Phillip believes the doctor is evil and they’ll never make it out of the facility alive. Trusting him might be just the thing to save her. Or it might prove the asylum is exactly where she needs to be. – back cover blurb provided by Amazon.

 

Have you ever had nightmares? Ever see something that no one else seems to? Ever have bruises randomly appear on your body that you don’t remember obtaining? Have you ever questioned your sanity? Rose Briar is now. After an unfortunate night in which her friend’s prank ended in police, ambulances, and her parents arriving to save her Rose’s life was never the same. Now Rose is on her way to a mental institution deep in the heart of the Smokey Mountains, but her determination to run away, to not be what her mother wants her to be or expects her to be still runs strong in Rose and she doesn’t lie down when committed. And that’s what I loved best about Rose, she didn’t take things lying down. In fact, all of the characters in this book were very well developed and I could see them existing in this world! The pacing and the plot development were phenomenal. I was confused, disoriented, and intrigued all at the same time as Rose was in the story. The mystery enveloped me and kept my interest until the very last page. The questioning about Rose’s sanity also kept me questioning if she was or wasn’t until the last page as well. I was literally reading this and in my head I kept thinking “oh nope she’s crazy…. wait yea maybe she’s not? No, no definitely insane. Oh wait what the heck?! Okay she’s totally sane! I DON’T KNOW!!!”

 

The book was also very well written and the author has a gift for writing thrillers and mysteries. I can sometimes guess the ending of books with some ease, but I was guessing every movement, everything everyone said trying to figure out in my head how Rose’s story would end. The book was also a very easy book to read and besides the language and some of the mature-ish scenes, I would say that this book would be well suited for any child who loves thrillers and mysteries, especially the more modern ones in which the author has to think their way around cell phones and technology. I also loved how this author set the book in the Smokey Mountains! I feel that not a lot of books take place in Tennessee, especially from an area I practically grew up in and cherish so I’m overly excited when I read something set in that area. I also have a sense of “OH! I KNOW WHAT THAT LOOKS LIKE IN REAL LIFE!!!” lol. I loved that about this book.

 

The only thing I had an issue about was that I wanted to know more about the downfall, the end result, and Phillip, but I feel that this left room for a possible sequel or a side story from Phillip’s point of view. The book is easily one of my favorites of May so far and I can’t wait to see more of Rose’s story and see more from this author! Definitely a must read for any thrill seeking reader!

Leave a Reply

