The Legacy of Lilly Guthrie: The Half Life by Ellie Elisabeth

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Genre: YA Fantasy

 

Recommended Age: 13+ (some language and gore)

 

Favorite Quote: “Demons live among us. Angels too.”

 

I was provided a free copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. This did not sway my opinion in any way.

 

“When it came time to grieve her mother’s death, Lilly Guthrie didn’t let Penthus, the spirit of grief in. She bottled up her feelings, closed her doors, and packed up her life to travel across the country to her mother’s alma mater. Little did Lilly know, she would find Penthus and every other disgruntled spirit waiting for her at Wakefield High; that her decision to attend Wakefield would start a war between good and evil, human and spirit, angel and demon. The only question, would Lilly fight the battle she started or run?” – Back cover blurb provided by Amazon.

 

Since we’ve been young we’ve been told the stories of angels and demons… but what if there was something in-between? And what if there were humans that kept the peace between the two legendary rivals? Well this is where we meet Lilly Guthrie! She’s about to discover that nothing is at it seems in this world and that she has a heavy, important role to play in it… whether she wants to or not. I feel like this book was a good read. The overall story was very intriguing and unique. The plot was absolutely enthralling and the book was easy to read and follow along, but I had some issues with the book.

 

I feel that the book’s pacing was very fast and that if slowed down the book would have greatly benefitted from it. Because the pacing was off, I felt that I didn’t get to know the characters as well as I could have. The amount of different characters was also very overwhelming and I feel that a lot of the names were too similar for the reader. I also feel that some of the way the quotes were wrote was very confusing for the reader. I’m very picky with how I like quotes and I also sometimes get very confused reading if the quotes are not the way I prefer them, so my biases might have played a role in this part of the review. Overall the book was an enjoyable, quick read and I suggest giving it a go if you’re interested in angels and demons.

Leave a Reply

