Chasm of Acheron (Beyond Solstice Gates Series #7) by Kimm Reid


Rating: 4/5

 

Genre: Junior Fantasy

 

Recommended Age: 13+ (a bit more gore than the other books, character death, and extreme sadness. Also, this book has more religious themes than the other ones. I know some parents who don’t want their kids reading anything related to any religion, so I felt I had to point that for people who might be the same way.)

 

Favorite Quote: “Jennifer, Little One, I will be with you until the very end”

 

I was provided a free copy of the book by the publishing company and they also compensated me for my time. This did not affect my opinions in any way.

 

” “TAKE ME,”  he wanted to scream.  “LEAVE HER … PLEASE TAKE ME!”  Judah begged Shemaiah to let him take Jennifer’s place, but he knew it wouldn’t be so.  From the first moment that his twin sister had stepped foot in this dreadful land, Judah knew this moment would come.  He didn’t realize it until right now, but as they were running, Judah pulling his sister and keeping her on her feet, he suddenly knew in his heart that everything right up to this very moment was to prepare him to release Jennifer into the hands of King Shrailzhar. The boy wanted to peel off his own skin; to step out of himself somehow or throw himself into the Sea of Acheron.  He knew he couldn’t.  Judah knew that Jennifer would have to pay a price that only she could pay—one that would cost her everything. One soul in exchange for many. ” – Back cover blurb provided by Amazon.

 

This is it. The last leg of our journey. The final lap… but yet when things don’t go as planned and one more requirement is left to fill before the souls can be freed…. will it be too much of a price to pay? Well, it will be for the reader. I cried while reading this book. Literally bawled like a baby. I don’t spoil anything in my reviews, but there was a section in this book that just broke me. The scene was done so beautifully and was so upsetting for me that I had to include it in the recommended age thing because I feared it might be a bit upsetting for younger readers. It was wrote, as the whole series was, very beautifully and it felt very real for the emotionally invested reader like myself. Besides that one very very upsetting and soul-breaking scene I felt that the story was very good. The character and plot development felt very complete and the series as a whole felt like it came to a decent ending.

 

However, I had more issues with this book then the other books. I felt that the book was very slow in the beginning and that books 6 and 7 could have been pushed together into just one book. I also feel robbed by the ending. I was expecting a big reunion with the Travelers and their loved ones and for the epilogue to be about their lives after Trilleah, but it just kind of ended. I also felt confused about a few of the characters on if they were still alive or not. The ending of the book was fairly good, but I just wanted something different.

 

Overall, I liked this book and I loved the series! Definitely one of the best series I’ve read in very long time and I would recommend it for readers young and old!

Leave a Reply

