Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume 

Rating: 5/5

Genre: YA Fantasy

Recommended Age: 12+ (one mature flashback).

Favorite Quote: “‘Mind you keep your eyes open in this new life Ewan,’ she said with wide pupils of her own, ‘you never know what you might see when you get to the big city.'”
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

This did not influence my decision in any manner.
“Ewan Pendle was weird. Really weird. At least, that’s what everyone told him. Then again, being able to see monsters that no one else could wasn’t exactly normal. Thinking he has been moved off to live with his eleventh foster family, Ewan is instead told he is a Lenitnes, one of an ancient race of peoples who can alone see the real Creatures that inhabit the earth. He is taken in by Enola, the mysterious sword carrying Grand Master of Firedrake Lyceum, a labyrinth of halls and rooms in the middle of London where other children, just like him, go to learn the ways of the Creatures.” – Amazon
When I was first contacted by the author and asked to review this book I read about it on Amazon. The first thing I saw was “If you’re suffering fom Harry Potter withdrawals…” And obviously I’m always suffering. So I agreed to review it and I have to say that this is definitely the book you want to read when suffering from Harry Potter withdrawals. Ewan is a very likable orphan who’s luck changes close to his 12th birthday. He finds out he’s not the weird kid he’s been made to believe he is… He’s not weird at all. He’s just a Lenitnes, a group of people who can see creatures like goblins and dragons. But, just like Harry Potter, Ewan has something special in him and with his group of friends he’s determined to solve the mystery and save the Queen.
I found the book to be a very fun read! It was a quick and very easy read (I got busy with life, but every chance I had I would easily work through 100 pages), the characters are all developed and I can determine who’s talking by the way the sentence is wrote, and the plot is very well thought out. The flashbacks in this book aren’t out of place and the character conversation felt natural.
The only thing I need to complain about are the lack of creatures Ewan sees when he starts at the school, but hopefully if the second novel is ever released it will become a more prominent presence. 
Overall, this book was very enjoyable. I want to know more about this world and about the characters. I absolutely fell in love with Mathilde and Enid and I’m so happy with how Ewan developed in the first novel. I’d love to see more of him and I think you would too! Go check out this book and make sure to leave a review telling the author how much we are in need of a sequel! Happy reading!

One thought on “Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume 

  1. Thank you for the review, Paige, it’s really great! And yes, there will be MANY more actual creatures in the second book … Including a slimy creature of the deep in the River Thames 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

