A Million Junes by Emily Henry


Rating: 5/5

Genre: YA Fantasy

Recommended Age: 16+ (mature and depressing scenes).

Favorite Quote: “From my bedroom window, I watch the ghost flutter.”
“In their hometown of Five Fingers, Michigan, the O’Donnells and the Angerts have mythic legacies. But for all the tall tales they weave, both founding families are tight-lipped about what caused the century-old rift between them, except to say it began with a cherry tree. 

  

Eighteen-year-old Jack “June” O’Donnell doesn’t need a better reason than that. She’s an O’Donnell to her core, just like her late father was, and O’Donnells stay away from Angerts. Period. 

  

But when Saul Angert, the son of June’s father’s mortal enemy, returns to town after three mysterious years away, June can’t seem to avoid him. Soon the unthinkable happens: She finds she doesn’t exactly hate the gruff, sarcastic boy she was born to loathe.  

  

Saul’s arrival sparks a chain reaction, and as the magic, ghosts, and coywolves of Five Fingers conspire to reveal the truth about the dark moment that started the feud, June must question everything she knows about her family and the father she adored. And she must decide whether it’s finally time for her—and all of the O’Donnells before her—to let go.” – Amazon.
I have to say hands down this was the most amazing book I’ve probably read this month at least! I went into this book thinking it was just a Romeo and Juliet retelling but I came out of this book with a better understanding of how the world works. This is kind of a Romeo and Juliet like story (or Hatfield and McCoy if you’re not up on your Shakespeare), but it involves a deeper meaning of life in general. So basically what the Romeo and Juliet story missed. Sorry Shakespeare lovers but while my favorite play will always be the tale of two star crossed lovers, I always came out of it with more questions than answers. Like Matilda says “I wonder why they didn’t just change their story?”. And yes I’m babbling. I don’t know how to write something that can describe the way I feel towards this book. And I’m intimidated by Emily Henry’s writing. Her writing was genius. She truly has a way of grabbing words and weaving them into something truly unqiue. Her characters voices had distinct tones and her plot was divine. The way she told this story was unlike how I’ve read a story before and I absolutely fell in love with the intermingling of at least 5 different story lines. Nothing felt awkward and nothing felt forced. And this is the type of book you can pick up and down multiple times. The story is memorable to you and sticks and sinks into you like the Whites. I can say no bad things about this book except that it’s a standalone and I’d love to see more about the O’Donnells and the Angerts, but I feel that their story has ended much like everyone’s does at some point. I highly recommend this book to everyone… especially if you’ve ever lost the biggest person in your life. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll come out with so much more than you’ve ever thought possible. 

Leave a Reply

