No Ordinary Star by M.C. Frank

Rating: 5/5

Genre: YA Dystopian/Fantasy

Recommended Age: 16+ (very mature and depressing scenes. Some triggering scenes).

Favorite Quote: “Twenty five, twenty five.”
A soldier is summoned to the North Pole, days before the year changes, told to fix the great Clock for a celebration. He has no idea what to do. A girl, hunted for the crime of being born, almost dies out on the ice. She is rescued by the last polar bear left alive. A library waits for them both, a library built over a span of a hundred years, forgotten in the basement of an ice shack. The world hasn’t known hunger or sickness in hundreds of years. It has also forgotten love and beauty. The year is 2524. Inspired by the short stories of Ray Bradbury, this futuristic novel is set in a world where Christmas -among other things- is obsolete and a Clock is what keeps the fragile balance of peace. Written in three installments, this is the breathtaking and sensual story of how two unlikely people change the world, and each other, one book at a time. Immerse yourself into the icy cold world of this scorching hot new novel. – Amazon
I was provided a free ARC of this book in return for promotion and my honest review. This exchange did not effect my decision in anyway.
So, as you might know, I love dystopians. When I was offered a chance to read this book I jumped on it… Andddddd….. I loved it! I loved the story, the future, and how the author managed to make this unique world. The characters and plot were very well developed just enough to leave some mystery for the next book, the story pacing never dragged, and I felt the book was a great first book for the trilogy.
The only things I felt were off with the book is that the story was fast-paced, but I just got done reading a very slow paced book so I blame that. The book was also wrote in a certain tone that matched the book. Some people might be put off by it, but i thought it matched the tone of the book very well. I highly enjoyed the book and I’d highly recommend this book for anyone who is a Dystopian lover and a Hans Christian Anderson lover.

Leave a Reply

