The Andromeda Project (The Cluster Chronicles #1) by Jason Michael Primrose

Rating: 4.5/5

Genre: Sci-Fi

Recommended Age: 16+ (some language, gore, and mature scenes)

Favorite Quote: “‘Cursed to fail'”.

Excerpt from Amazon: The year is 2026 A.D. Allister Adams faces unusual woes of young adulthood; superhuman powers, amnesia from childhood trauma, an emotionally distant mother and the loss of purpose that comes with being stifled by peers and authorities. In a final effort, the Andromeda Project has approached Allister to see if he qualifies for their group of recruits tasked with locating ancient alien power hidden on Earth. But the Andromeda Project isn’t the only organization after it and they aren’t the only organization after Allister either. How can Allister decide between who’s right, who’s wrong and what’s necessary? THERE IS ONLY SELF-PRESERVATION.

I was provided a copy of this book for free in exchange for promotion and for my honest review. This exchange did not sway my opinion in any way.

I’m a novice to the sci-fi world and I usually leave those books to my husband, but when I saw this book I had to read it. The description drew me in and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. The book was an incredible journey from the beginning to the end. The book is written from the perspective of multiple POVs and it jumps from different places and time periods. This writing style allows the reader to become very acquainted with all of the main characters and to know their motives and their drives on a more personal level. The book’s time shifts also allows the reader to know the whole story and thus the plot is very well explained. I also found the book to be a very easy and engaging read.

The only thing that I would think would be off-putting to some is the pacing and the multiple POVs. The pacing of the book is pretty fast and having multiple POVs is sometimes confusing. Honestly, I wasn’t a big fan of the pacing and the numerous POVs, but I feel that the writing style worked for this type of book. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I can’t wait to read the next books in this series! This is the author’s debut feature length novel and I foresee many great works from him in the future. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

