The Duality of Nature (The Monster of Selkirk Book 1) by C.E. Clayton


Rating: 5/5

Genre: Fantasy

Recommended Age: 16+ (some mature and depressing scenes. Some triggering scenes).

Favorite Quote: “Tallis is a beautiful and terrible thing. Fearsome and alluring. Just like the forest in many ways… but it’s written all over that handsome, pale face of yours; you like her.”
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a monster when they see one. After three hundred years of monstrous, feral elves plaguing the island nation of Selkirk, everyone believes they know what a monster is. Humans have learned to live with their savage neighbors, enacting a Clearing every four years to push the elves back from their borders. The system has worked for centuries, until after one such purge, a babe was found in the forest. 
As Tallis grows, she discovers she isn’t like everyone else. There is something a little different that makes people leery in her presence, and she only ever makes a handful of friends. 
But when the elves gather their forces and emerge from the forests literally hissing Tallis’s name like a battle mantra, making friends is the least of her troubles. Tallis and her companions find themselves on an unwilling journey to not only clear her name, but to stop the elves from ravaging her homeland. – Amazon
I was presented with a free ebook copy of this book in exchange for promoting the book on my blog and for review purposes. This did not sway my opinion of this book in any manner.
I’m back you guys! And with another exciting review of a book that I became so swept away with! When I read the premise of this book I knew it was going to be good… I just never imagined how good it would be! I fell completely in love with this book. The characters were all very well developed and had interesting backstories and quirks about them, the makeup of the core characters did not have the traditional roles one would expect them to possess in a story like this, and they all failed at points. While none of us like to read about failure or loss, it makes the characters more human and makes the reader cheer for them even harder. I could go on and on about how well developed every single character in this book is, but I’ll just leave it at this: I believed at times I was reading a book penned by Terry Brooks. Thats how well done this book is. Aside from that, I also felt the plot was very well developed and the pacing was steady. The story actually begins a bit before the events of what the excerpt talks about and the story isn’t fast paced or forced. The writing isn’t hard to read or understand as well.
The only bad thing about it is that when you have to put down the book I found myself having to read back a few pages to try and jog my memory as to what’s going on… However I am just coming back from a trip and I’m not getting a lot of sleep so maybe it’s more than likely just an issue with me and not the book. Overall I think this was a wonderful book to begin a series with and I’M SO EXCITED FOR THE NEXT BOOK!!!

Leave a Reply

