Finding Audrey by Sofie Kinsella


Rating: 3/5

 

Genre: Contemporary

 

Recommended Age: 16+ (mature scenes, language. Some triggering scenes)

 

Favorite Quote: “But, Audrey, that’s what life is. We’re all on a jagged graph. I know I am. Up a bit, down a bit. That’s life.”

 

“Audrey wears dark glasses all the time, even in the house. She almost never goes out, doesn’t talk to new people, and finds making eye contact to be nearly impossible.

But then one day she meets Linus. Linus is her brother’s friend and a sensitive spirit with whom she can talk through her fears. He makes her laugh and doesn’t leave her feeling like she’s being judged. As their friendship deepens, Audrey’s recovery gains momentum, and she and Linus begin to develop feelings for each other. But how can they have a future together when Audrey hasn’t dealt with her past? And how could anyone ever love her once they’ve seen her at her worst?” – Amazon.com

 

I never thought I would be the one to fall in love with audio books. I had actually won this audio book in a giveaway and I thought I would try it out. The biggest reason I wanted to try it out was because I had recently been in a car accident… and as a result I’ve been having mini freak-outs in the car while driving. I thought the audio book would help me be calm and surprisingly it worked. However, this won’t be a lasting fix, kind of like what Audrey is dealing with. She fixes herself with dark sunglasses and by sitting in dark rooms. She doesn’t go outside and she stays away from anyone not in her safe circle. And while her doctor urges her to push herself, it’s really hard.

 

I have never read a book that I cheered for the main character to succeed more than this one. I fell in love with Audrey and her struggles became my struggles. The story was so beautifully narrated and I loved the back and forth style between a regular writing and the transcripts of the videos Audrey was urged to make by her doctor. I also loved how the book was written in a way that Audrey continually breaks the fourth wall. The characters were also, for the most part, very well developed and they felt real as well.

 

While I enjoyed this book and I found myself sitting in my car listening to it well after I had parked, I felt that the plot could have been better. I fell that the main climax of the story happened way too late and that some of the events could have been written better. I felt that Audrey didn’t have as many “setbacks” as someone who is dealing with mental health issues does. It felt that when she found a guy that most of her problems resolved themselves and that the main climax was a bit of a letdown. I also felt that the book didn’t discuss the dangers of what happened to Audrey towards the end enough. The main character was fine and nothing seriously dangerous happened to her, while in reality the type of activity she engages in can do serious and sometimes irreparable damage to people.  Furthermore, the main action that happened to Audrey was never discussed in the book. While I kind of liked how the event wasn’t discussed (because this story was made to focus on mental health issues) I didn’t like how the event was mentioned, but never fully discussed. It’s aggravating to a reader to not know the whole story and that’s the situation I found myself in, aggravated and needing more when there is no more to be had. Overall I enjoyed the book for the most part and I felt that it was a very good first audio book, I just wish that the book was better in many ways.

Leave a Reply

