The Last Star by Rick Yancy


Rating: 2.5/5

 

Genre: Dystopian/ Sci-Fi

 

Recommended Age: 16+ (language, mature scenes, gore, children’s death, etc.)

 

Favorite Quote: “’He’s no different from us, Sam,’ I tell him. ‘None of this will end until somebody decides to put down the guns.’”

 

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us. They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.
But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.
In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves . . . or saving what makes us human. – Amazon.com

 

This is it… the last battle for good and evil… but why do I not feel pumped about it? Well, to put it honestly my dear Watson, it’s because this series did not live up to the hype that was created around it. More on that later, though. Instead here are some good points that did have me excited about the book. I felt that for the most part Cassie, Sammy, Ben, and Ringer were very well developed and I cheered for them as they tried to survive in this literal Hell on Earth. I also felt that the pacing was very well done and it didn’t feel too fast or too slow. Unfortunately, those were the only good things I had to say about this book.

 

It’s not that this book was a bad book. I’m genuinely in love with the series… HOWEVER, there were enormous problems with the book. The plot was very complex. While complex plots can be pulled off it doesn’t make sense to readers when something they’ve been told to believe since book 1 is actually false. The plot was too overcomplicated and it was so for no reason. I could go on and on about all the ways this book failed in that regard, but I like to keep my reviews spoiler free. I also had an issue with a character death. No, it’s not because I was very upset about it. It’s because in the end it becomes a moot point. The writing is also not very impactful. In the first book, Yancy’s writing made me cry because Cassie felt so real and her struggles became mine… but in this one it just felt very flat. The book also would have been more insightful if it ended in a different way… but I’m not going to share that either because it would be a spoiler.

 

Overall, I would say if you are a fan of the series maybe read the book with your own precautions. The first two books are wonderful and I loved them. This book ranks up there with the last book in the Eragon series on how bad of an ending it was.

Leave a Reply

