The Second Time Around by Mary Higgins Clark


Rating: 3/5

 

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

 

Recommended Age: 13+ (some language. I think these books are meant for an adult audience but I don’t remember there being anything too strong for a younger reader in my listen through of this book)

 

Favorite Quote: “It’s funny how, even long after you’ve accepted the grief of losing someone you love and truly have gotten on with your life, every once in a while something comes up that plays “gotcha,” and for a moment or tow the car tissue separates and the wound is raw again.”

 

I’ve been on a bit of a mystery kick lately with my audio books, but some mystery writers are better than others. This was a decent audio book however. I felt that the plot was very well developed and that the pacing was well done. The plot, for the most part, didn’t leave any stone unturned and it did a fair job at explaining the how of what happened in the book.

 

Unfortunately, that’s all the good I can say about this book. I felt that the biggest flaw of the book was the huge cast of characters. I felt that there were so many characters in the book that it was very overwhelming. I also felt that because each character had a certain responsibility and action they played in the overall plot that when the plot was revealed I was completely confused. Literally I was listening to this audio book and it got to the part where everything was revealed… and my thoughts were “wait who? Who is that? Wait what are they talking about? When did that happen??” This is basically an issue with what I’ve been talking about the past few blog posts: a book that’s complex and overly complex for no reason. The complexity could have paid off if the characters were better developed, but thus this was not so. I also feel that there were a lot of plot holes in the story. There were events that happened that were unresolved in the end and while they weren’t a major part to the overall story I still wanted to know what happened to them afterwards.

 

Overall, it was an okay story but it could have been better if it was simplified and tied up everything in a non-confusing way. I’ve read one other Mary Higgins Clark book before and it was way better than this one, so don’t completely avoid her books!8

Leave a Reply

