July 2017 Book of the Month


Rating: 4.5/5

 

Price: Well, it depends! It’s basically $10 USD a month and you can get a subscription plan to save more money, but you can also choose to spend more money per month depending on the books you want! Each additional book is $9.99 USD each, which is really a steal for some of these books, and you get free shipping. You can choose between a 1-month, 3-month, 6-month and 12-month. The cost of the 1-month plan is $16.99, the 3-month plan is $44.97 ($14.99 per month), the 6-month plan is $83.94 ($13.99 per month) and the 12-month plan is $143.88 ($11.99 per month). (The 1-month plan is no longer available to new members.)

 

Ships: Only in the USA at the moment.

 

So everytime I log into Instagram I see all of these posts with books that have a little BOTM initial on it. My curiosity finally got the best of me and I HAD to see what all the hype was around this site. And I discovered something wonderful.


 

The first things in the box I found were the info card and this fun “how to take the perfect book shot” card.


 

The next items I unboxed were the free goodies I chose. I had a coupon to free a free tote bag (and it is MASSIVE) and with your subscription you’re able to receive two free items from a list per month. I chose a luggage tag and a coloring book with crayons. Tote bags can range from $10 USD-$20 USD, luggage tags range from $5 USD to $10 USD, and crayons with coloring books range from $2 USD – $5 USD.

 

The last item I unboxed was the book I selected for July. It’s Goodbye Vitamin and here’s an excerpt of that book:

Freshly disengaged from her fiancé and feeling that life has not turned out quite the way she planned, thirty-year-old Ruth quits her job, leaves town and arrives at her parents’ home to find that situation more complicated than she’d realized. Her father, a prominent history professor, is losing his memory and is only erratically lucid. Ruth’s mother, meanwhile, is lucidly erratic. But as Ruth’s father’s condition intensifies, the comedy in her situation takes hold, gently transforming her all her grief.
Told in captivating glimpses and drawn from a deep well of insight, humor, and unexpected tenderness, Goodbye, Vitaminpilots through the loss, love, and absurdity of finding one’s footing in this life. – Amazon.com

I received this book for free and the going rate of the book on Amazon is $17.66 USD.

 

Verdict: While I LOVE that I got over $30 USD worth of items for free I feel that their free items are limited. I could replace all of my luggage tags though, which would be fine by me because they have gorgeous tags. I do love that you can get new or hit books for cheaper than you can from other websites, that they’re hardback, and that they come with a special insignia. It really makes you feel like you’re apart of some secret society! The real question here is: Would I buy another subscription from them? And my answer is: I already have a 12 month membership so expect to see more of these!

Leave a Reply

