July 2017 – Whimsify


Rating: 4.5/5

 

Price: Whimsify offers three subscription plans for you to choose from: billed monthly at $34.95 each month, billed every 3 months at $101.85, or billed once every 6 months for $197.70. You can also choose the gift box option (which is what I used for this review) for $34.95.

 

Ships: USA, Canada, and almost all other countries worldwide. Shipping is calculated based on location.

This was a suggested sub box I should try out from a follower on my Instagram! If you have a sub box you’d like me to test out, leave a comment down below! I also choose this box because it’s mainly fantasy/sci-fi based and I loved July’s theme!

 

The July theme of this box was “Something Wicked This Way Comes” and I love how dark and evil it sounded. I also think while the front of the card was a bit odd looking that the back of the card was very well done.

 

The first two items from the box is some caramel popcorn from Kettle Encore Gourmet Popcorn and some Night Circus themed tea from Riddle’s Tea Shoppe and Curiosities. I included these two items first because I’m not a huge fan of either item. Both of these items will be going to my husband for him to enjoy. The popcorn goes for about $1.50 and the tea sample is about $2.50.

 

The next items in the box was a cool, custom Caraval themed tote back from Miss Phi and a print from Shakespeare’s Macbeth made by Dorothy Reads. I absolutely adore these items! The canvas tote bag seems study enough to carry a large amount of books and the quote will make a great piece for some wall decoration in the future. Similar tote bags can be found on Miss Phi’s website for $20.00 and Dorothy Reads has similar art prints on her website for $15.00.


 

The next items in the box were a bookmark from Dreamy and Co! I LOVE Dreamy and Co (hands down one of the best bookmark shops out there, next to inapaperforest, inkandwonder, and markedbymary) and I was SO EXCITED to see something from them in this box. It’s a quote from Menagerie by Rachel Vincent. The candle in this box was from Muggle Library Candles (again, another favorite shop of mine!) and the candle they created just for this box was named Gamorrah and it smells of licorice cherries. Honestly, while I adore the company this candle wasn’t a favorite of mine. It might just be me, but the candle scent is very overpowering to the point where I got a bit of a headache from smelling it. But in all honesty I’ve been having issues of smelling overpowering smells recently and so it might just be me. The bookmark is around $1.80 and the candle is around $7.00.

 

Lastly, we have this month’s book: Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody! Here’s the blurb:

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that—illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca. Their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all her loved ones disappear. – Amazon.com

 

There was also a poster that came with the book! Posters can retail between $2.00- upwards of $30.00 depending on the quality and artwork. The book is retailing for $13.59 on Amazon currently.


Verdict: Oh my gosh, this box was pretty good and I definitely feel like I got a steal on all of these items! I loved most of the items in this box, but I felt that there were some things that could have been better. I felt that the candle was very overpowering and should have been tones down some and I feel that the popcorn and tea are just wasted on me since I don’t like caramal and I don’t like tea. I think the popcorn was a good idea, but I would have enjoyed regular popcorn better and I think that would have been a safer option to go with. I also don’t feel like tea is a carnival item. It was nice and it was carnival themed, but it wasn’t something you’d really see in a carnival. Overall, I liked the box and I’d really love to buy more boxes from this company!

Leave a Reply

