The First by Dylan S. Perry


Rating: 5/5

 

Genre: YA Fantasy

 

Recommended Age: 13+ (some mature scenes)

 

Favorite Quote:“Were they really so insignificant to the men around them that their absence could go unnoticed for so long?”

 

  1. Naseby, England.Baroness Margaret Elizabeth De Meaux knows exactly where she fits in the hierarchy of society, of her family, and in her life. However, one thing sets her apart from all those she loves: her visions. They have always shown her wondrous lands, but she accepted long ago they were strictly illusions.Despite the fact that they are pure fantasy, she relies on them to provide solace from the monotony of her existence. When her mother suddenly passes away her own grief pushes her to the brink of insanity. It leaves her questioning just how far apart her two contradicting worlds really are from one another.

    Can Margaret reconcile her past, her agony, and what she assumes is her imagination? Or will she give into the myths and tales from her childhood to shape both history and the future? Despite it all, she knows that one truth is universal through the ages. Trust is hard-won and easily broken when you don’t know who’s on your side.

 
I received a free copy of this book from the author and I was a Beta Reader for this book. This did not influence my review in any way possible.

 

You know what’s something that I don’t get to read a lot about? Time Travel. I am a huge believer in time travel and I’m also a big believer in the three theories of time travel. While I’m not going to out which theory I believe this book to fall under I will say that you are in for a ride through time like you’ve never been before. We’re introduced to Margaret on the day she says goodbye to her mother. When Margaret can’t seem to get control of her grief her life starts to quickly spiral downwards. It’s only when she gets a visit from someone she seems to have met previously that her life may begin to make sense after all.

 

Let me just say that this book was amazing. Not only did I LOVE beta reading for Dylan, but I loved this story from the get-go and I’m so happy I got a chance to make it into what it is today. I got to see the evolution of these characters and the plot. I feel that I can honestly say that the character development and the plot were amazing. The characters were so well developed that you don’t expect some of the twists and turns that come from these characters. The plot is also well done for a novella. A novella is a book that is shorter than a novel but longer than a short story, so there are some very strict page/word count limits on these types of books. Usually when I’ve read novellas I’ve found them to be messy, but with this book it was put together well. The writing is also another thing I want to brag about. The writing in this story is really well done. When the author writes quotes from these characters in the 1600s she beautifully writes like how they would talk and even the narration itself is written in that same way. However, the writing is not hard to understand and I found myself flying through the book because it flows so well.

 

The only concerns I had with this book was that I had more questions than answers at the end of the novella, BUT this is supposed to be a companion novella to the rest of the Rare Sunshine series so I will have to wait for the rest of the series to come out and then reread this book along with the novels (oh goodness the humanity! *sarcasm*). I also felt the pacing was fast with all the time jumps, but the book is a novella and thus they have to be fast.

 

Honestly, this was a marvelous book and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for the main series! I thought the book was very inspirational for women and I also thought that the book had a good message about how to deal with grief and how to change your “fate”.

Leave a Reply

