Blood Treason (The Blood Trilogy #1) by Lily Serafina


Rating: 3/5

 

Genre: YA Fantasy

 

Recommended Age: 14+ (violence and gore)

 

Favorite Quote: “The only thing that I do know, is that being with you, makes me human again. Everything is right when I’m with you.”

 

When eighteen-year-old Aura Edwards is thrown into a world she hasn’t belonged in since she was a little girl, she’s willing to make the best of it. With the promise of becoming the next British princess and the rekindling of a once upon a time romance with Tristan, her betrothed, how could she not at least try? But when her heart is unexpectedly torn in two, she must decide between her love for the boy who never forgot her and the vampire who, against all odds, saved her life.
Aura’s life takes a detour when Adam betrays his clan and does everything in his power to protect her. He may not understand why, but Adam is drawn to Aura and his instant attraction to her takes them both by surprise. Tristan is not ready to give up the fight for Aura though, even when he discovers the twisted history bearing down on him and Adam. But when, Aura discovers a dark secret hiding in plain sight, she begins to question who she can trust. – Amazon.com

 

I received a copy of this book for free from the author in exchange for my honest review. This did not influence my decision in any way.

 

Probably the first stories you were ever told as a young child involved a prince, a princess, and a monster. But what if the monster in the story was actually the good guy? And the prince the evil villain? That’s the type of story you get when you read this book! This book has some decent growth for the main characters and the plot was very intriguing. The plot developed fast, but it left me at the edge of my seat. Definitely a book you could devour easily in a day. The book is also very well written and is easy to understand.

 

However, there were a few issues with this book. I felt that the book was very fast-paced and that there could have been better character growth for every character. I had some issues with how some of the characters turned out by the end of the book and I felt that the book continued too many twists and turns for my personal taste. The book also contains a love triangle…. maybe more of a love square and it had a Twilight/Shiver feel to it. I also did not find the book to be very inspirational, except in that you should be weary of those you think you love because you might not really know them. I liked that the book included a Hans from Frozen like character, but I felt that Aura, whom is one of the main characters, was very much a Lois Lane character. She constantly found herself in need of saving. This in itself is not a bad thing, but I had different expectations for her. This book just wasn’t a perfect fit for me, but I believe it enjoyable for those that love Twilight or Shiver or any classic YA paranormal romance books.

Leave a Reply

