Adderall Blues by Brian J. Robinson


Rating:  4/5

 

Genre: Health/Fitness/Mental Disorders/Self-Help(?)

 

Recommended Age: 15+ (lots of discussions about abusing prescription medication and alcohol and some other mature scenes).

 

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not sway my opinion in any way.

 

This first person account of ADHD is among the only books to offer a non-clinical perspective of ADHD where we can all understand on a deeper level the blessing and the curse that is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. Seen through the eyes of one of literatures’ most outlandish characters, a greater connection with those afflicted with the pathologically wondering mind society loves to label is felt and processed from an altogether different perceptive.

Observe as our main character trips over himself endlessly while succeeding uniquely in his own fashion. Does Brian conquer his supposed “disorder”, and transcend the label, or fall into the self-esteem trap that so many others have succumbed to? Prepare to be entertained and most importantly, enlightened. – Amazon.com

 

As a female, especially since I’ve become married, I feel like I receive a huge amount of unsolicited advice about anything and everything, especially when it comes to having children, which I may or may not do.  I’ve been told to do an abundance of things to “avoid” having a child that will end up having some sort of learning disorder. While I brush these off as myths and old (new?) wives tales, I do get hurt by them. Not for me, but that people with these different learning/thinking abilities and their parents get a bad rep because sometimes people think that something “went wrong” with them during conception and/or birth. Anyways, when I was approached to read this book I jumped at the chance because I wanted to learn about ADHD from someone who had ADHD and someone who’s had to live with it. I felt that the book did really good as not only an autobiographical book but also as an inside non-clinical look at how ADHD works from someone who has had to live with it. I also felt that the book had a good set-up and the story flowed well throughout the whole book. I felt connected with Brian and his journey and I felt heavily invested in his success.

 

However, I did feel that the book, which is supposed to be a “catalyst for change in the educational system” fails a little bit. While I did love that the book showed Brian’s journey and I felt I knew a lot more about ADHD then I did going into the book, I don’t feel like it drove home how the educational system could be updated to help those that have different ways of learning (which I don’t disagree with. I’ve always thought that the system needed a major overhaul). I feel that the book probably could have went into further detail about Brian’s school experiences to better help drive home the need for change in the educational system.

Verdict: While I thought the book was very well written and presented a good argument, I believe that it could have been more focused on educational change, but for what I got I thought it was very inspirational to those who have learning disabilities in that you can be successful, you just have to find something that works for you in terms of careers, studying, etc. If you want to learn more about ADHD or read up on some arguments against the current educational system, then definitely read this book!

Leave a Reply

