All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders


Rating: 2.5/5

 

Genre: Adult Sci-Fi/Fantasy

 

Recommended Age: 15+ (mature language, mature scenes)

 

An ancient society of witches and a hipster technological startup go to war in order to prevent the world from tearing itself. To further complicate things, each of the groups’ most promising followers (Patricia, a brilliant witch and Laurence, an engineering “wunderkind”) may just be in love with each other.

As the battle between magic and science wages in San Francisco against the backdrop of international chaos, Laurence and Patricia are forced to choose sides. But their choices will determine the fate of the planet and all mankind.

In a fashion unique to Charlie Jane Anders, All the Birds in the Sky offers a humorous and, at times, heart-breaking exploration of growing up extraordinary in world filled with cruelty, scientific ingenuity, and magic. – Amazon.com

 

 

 

Here is a book that I thought held a lot of promise, but didn’t really grab my interest a lot. I thought the concept, while lofty, was really intriguing and that the character development was really well done in this book… but beyond that I didn’t like this book.

 

I thought that the book’s plot was not very well developed. It had a lot of good build-up but in the end the book failed completely to explain and resolve the major conflicts in my opinion. The pacing was very weird as well. The timing skips around a lot and the way the author writes the book is a bit weird as well. You really do have to pay attention to the book and to the writing in order to completely comprehend the book, which is probably why I failed to understand this book. I was trying to get through this book quickly so my husband could read it for our book club and I felt that I either missed some things in the book or the book didn’t do a good job at explaining to me what was going on.

 

Verdict: I felt completely let down by this book that I believe could have been a really great sci-fi vs. magic book. I feel that the writing was wonky, the book too hard to comprehend to some readers, and that the book had some major flaws in it. I wouldn’t totally count this book out as it is marketed as a national bestseller, so I would give at least the first part of the book a quick read through to see if you like it, but for me it just wasn’t something that I enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

