Nameless Queen by Rebecca McLaughlin

Disclaimer: I received an e-arc copy of this book from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.Author: Rebecca McLaughlinBook Series: Standalone for nowRating: 5/5Publication Date: January 7, 2020Genre: YA FantasyRecommended Age: 15+ (violence, death, gore, and tattoos)Publisher: Crown Books for Young ReadersPages: 352Amazon LinkSynopsis: Everyone expected the king’s daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me.It shouldn’t even be possible. I’m Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don’t even get names. Heck, dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care.But there’s no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don’t?Review: This book draws you in and refuses to let you go! I loved the setting and how the world was built throughout the novel. The book did excellent to convey the underlying message about poverty and how we create these social classes out of a need to be above someone else. The book also did well with character development and creation. There was also absolutely no romance in this book and, honestly, that’s a huge breath of fresh air in the YA genre.My only issues are that the book had a bit of a clunky ending. It’s a bit rushed and I think it could be fleshed out a bit more but dang it was a great book! What a fantastic first January 2020 read for me! Rebecca McLaughlin, we need another one!Verdict: Definitely worth your while to get this one!