Ink in the Blood by Kim Smejkal for Fantastic Flying Book Tour

Disclaimer: I received an arc from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Ink in the Blood

Author: Kim Smejkal

Book Series: Ink in the Blood Book 1

Diversity: LGBT friendly, two moms, and the use of they pronouns

Rating: 4/5

Publication Date: February 11, 2020

Publisher: HMH books for young readers

Recommended Age: 16+ (TW child abuse, alcohol usage, some violence, slight sexual content)

Synopsis: A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the esteemed religion of Profeta. Using magic, they tattoo followers with beautiful images that represent the Divine’s will and guide the actions of the recipients. It’s considered a noble calling, but ten years into their servitude Celia and Anya know the truth: Profeta is built on lies, the tattooed orders strip away freedom, and the revered temple is actually a brutal, torturous prison.

Their opportunity to escape arrives with the Rabble Mob, a traveling theater troupe. Using their inkling abilities for performance instead of propaganda, Celia and Anya are content for the first time . . . until they realize who followed them. The Divine they never believed in is very real, very angry, and determined to use Celia, Anya, and the Rabble Mob’s now-infamous stage to spread her deceitful influence even further.

To protect their new family from the wrath of a malicious deity and the zealots who work in her name, Celia and Anya must unmask the biggest lie of all—Profeta itself.

Review: Holy cow this is the best urban fantasy I’ve read in a long time! I love the world building and how detailed the author was with the religion and the ink magic. I also love the ink magic the author created, very well done! The characters were very well developed as well!

However, I do think that the pacing is a bit slow for my speed preference and the writing, while wonderful, is kinda odd. It bounces back and forth between present and past and that made it difficult for me to follow along with sometimes.

Verdict: I want a tattoo now.

BOOK INFORMATION
Ink in the Blood (Ink in The Blood #1)
by Kim Smejkal
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: February 11th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, LGBT, Fantasy

Synopsis:

A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.

Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the esteemed religion of Profeta. Using magic, they tattoo followers with beautiful images that represent the Divine’s will and guide the actions of the recipients. It’s considered a noble calling, but ten years into their servitude Celia and Anya know the truth: Profeta is built on lies, the tattooed orders strip away freedom, and the revered temple is actually a brutal, torturous prison.

Their opportunity to escape arrives with the Rabble Mob, a traveling theater troupe. Using their inkling abilities for performance instead of propaganda, Celia and Anya are content for the first time . . . until they realize who followed them. The Divine they never believed in is very real, very angry, and determined to use Celia, Anya, and the Rabble Mob’s now-infamous stage to spread her deceitful influence even further.

To protect their new family from the wrath of a malicious deity and the zealots who work in her name, Celia and Anya must unmask the biggest lie of all—Profeta itself.

BOOK LINKS
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43261156-ink-in-the-blood
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2qMRYSc
B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ink-in-the-blood-kim-smejkal/1130010706?ean=9781328557056
iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/ink-in-the-blood/id1453250044
Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Ink-Blood-Kim-Smejkal/9781328557056?ref=grid-view&qid=1573650612981&sr=1-1
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/ink-in-the-blood-4
Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Kim_Smejkal_Ink_in_the_Blood?id=S1WHDwAAQBAJ

AUTHOR INFORMATION
Kim Smejkal lives with her family on muse-satiating Vancouver Island, which means she’s often lost in the woods or wandering a beach. She writes dark fantasy for young adults and not-so-young adults, always with a touch of magic. Her debut novel, INK IN THE BLOOD, will release from HMH in early 2020, with a sequel to follow in 2021. She is represented by Daniel Lazar of Writers House.
AUTHOR LINKS
Website: https://kimsmejkal.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18143421.Kim_Smejkal
Twitter: https://twitter.com/kimsmejkal
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kimsmejkal/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kimsmejkal/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.es/KimSmejkal/

Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway

 

Disclaimer: I received an arc of this from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Storm of the East

Author: Joanna Hathaway

Book Series: Glass Alliance Book 2

Rating: 4/5

Publication Date: February 11, 2020

Publisher: TorTeen

Recommended Age: 16+ (violence, some gore, politics, and some love)

Synopsis: Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

Review: This was a great sequel to the first book! The book has a lot of political intrique and romance still. Still has some WW2 and Romeo and Juliet vibes as well. The characters are much more developed in this one and the plot was very well continued from the previous book to.this one.

This book is very politically centered though so if you don’t like that then it might not be your type of book. The book is also still slow paced.

Verdict: I love the politics!

BOOK INFORMATION

Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2)

by Joanna Hathaway
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: February 11th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, High Fantasy

Synopsis:

Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45043929-storm-from-the-east

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2RoNSv0

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/storm-from-the-east-joanna-hathaway/1131253787;jsessionid=63C9017C6FE19F8CEB83D5887DAACC13.prodny_store02-atgap12?ean=9780765396464

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/author/Joanna-Hathaway

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/storm-from-the-east/id1461771523

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/storm-from-the-east-1

Google Books: https://books.google.co.uk/books?vid=ISBN9780765396464&redir_esc=y

AUTHOR (7)

AUTHOR INFORMATION

JOANNA HATHAWAY was born in Montréal and is an avid storyteller who was inspired to write after reading her great-grandfather’s memoirs of the First World War. A lifelong history buff, she now has shelves filled with biographies and historical accounts, and perhaps one too many books about pilots. She can often be found reading, traveling, or riding horses.

Her debut novel DARK OF THE WEST is the first in a World Wars-infused fantasy series of forbidden love and deadly revenge. STORM FROM THE EAST will hit shelves on February 11, 2020.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://www.joannachathaway.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16071792.Joanna_Hathaway
Twitter: https://twitter.com/hathawayjojo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/spitfirewriter/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.es/pequenotigre/dark-of-the-west/

Embers of Liberty by Trever Bierschbach

EmbersofLibertyWithTitle
Tour Schedule:

February 10 – Paige @popthebutterfly
February 11 – JP @mr.pink.ink
February 12 – Stacie @borenbooks
Synopsis:
John Evermann’s world never changes. He goes to the same assigned job every day. He lives in the same house his family was placed in years ago. He picks up their weekly rations on Friday, and watches the same federally approved news broadcasts every night after dinner. Everything is as it is dictated to be, from the number on the back of his work jacket to the permanent curfew that keeps everyone safely in doors. Everyone has what they need to survive, and everyone contributes. It’s a perfect life, for some. It’s not enough for John and his friends. America is torn apart from civil war after the rise of a tyrannical President. The Republic of Texas lies to the west, a shining beacon of freedom. When the most radical authoritarian policies are passed some states followed Texas into secession, clinging to the legacy of the Founders. That is where John looked for the future of his family and the friends who came to rely on him. A land of choice and liberty. A place where his children can grow up to be who they want, not who they’re told. They just have to get there.