The Unwilling by Kelly Braffett Promo

A penetrating tale of magic, faith and pride…

The Unwilling is the story of Judah, a foundling born with a special gift and raised inside Highfall castle along with Gavin, the son and heir to Lord Elban’s vast empire. Judah and Gavin share an unnatural bond that is both the key to her survival… and possibly her undoing.

As Gavin is groomed for his future role, Judah comes to realize that she has no real position within the kingdom, in fact, no hope at all of ever traveling beyond its castle walls. Elban – a lord as mighty as he is cruel – has his own plans for her, for all of them. She is a mere pawn to him, and he will stop at nothing to get what he wants.

But outside the walls, in the starving, desperate city, a magus, a healer with his own secret power unlike anything Highfall has seen in years, is newly arrived from the provinces. He, too, has plans for the empire, and at the heart of those plans lies Judah… The girl who started life with no name and no history will soon uncover more to her story than she ever imagined.

An epic tale of greed and ambition, cruelty and love, this deeply immersive novel is about bowing to traditions and burning them down.

What I Want You To See by Catherine Linka for Rockstar Book Tours

WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE

Disclaimer: I received an arc from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: What I Want You to See

Author: Catherine Linka

Book Series: Standalone

Rating: 5/5

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 384

Recommended Age: 16+ (some sexual content, art stealing, some language)

Synopsis: Winning a scholarship to California’s most prestigious art school seems like a fairy tale ending to Sabine Reye’s awful senior year. After losing both her mother and her home, Sabine longs for a place where she belongs.

But the cutthroat world of visual arts is nothing like what Sabine had imagined. Colin Krell, the renowned faculty member whom she had hoped would mentor her, seems to take merciless delight in tearing down her best work—and warns her that she’ll lose the merit-based award if she doesn’t improve.

Desperate and humiliated, Sabine doesn’t know where to turn. Then she meets Adam, a grad student who understands better than anyone the pressures of art school. He even helps Sabine get insight on Krell by showing her the modern master’s work in progress, a portrait that’s sold for a million dollars sight unseen.

Sabine is enthralled by the portrait; within those swirling, colorful layers of paint is the key to winning her inscrutable teacher’s approval. Krell did advise her to improve her craft by copying a painting she connects with . . . but what would he think of Sabine secretly painting her own version of his masterpiece? And what should she do when she accidentally becomes party to a crime so well -plotted that no one knows about it but her?

Complex and utterly original, What I Want You to See is a gripping tale of deception, attraction, and moral ambiguity.

Review: I absolutely loved this book so much! The characters were well developed, the plot was intriguing from start to finish, and the story was equal parts sad as it was uplifting. It was also a very fast paced read! It was a great read!

My only issues are that the book jumped around a lot, it was a bit hard to follow in spots, and the book did not give you a truly happy ending, which I desperately wanted. Like it ended great, but it still had loose ends.

Verdict: Prepare your tissue box!

WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE Digital Assets

About the Book:

Title: WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE

Author: Catherine Linka

Pub. Date: February 4, 2020

Publisher: Freeform

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 384

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, KindleAudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBD

 

Winning a scholarship to California’s most prestigious art school seems like a fairy tale ending to Sabine Reye’s awful senior year. After losing both her mother and her home, Sabine longs for a place where she belongs.

But the cutthroat world of visual arts is nothing like what Sabine had imagined. Colin Krell, the renowned faculty member whom she had hoped would mentor her, seems to take merciless delight in tearing down her best work—and warns her that she’ll lose the merit-based award if she doesn’t improve.

Desperate and humiliated, Sabine doesn’t know where to turn. Then she meets Adam, a grad student who understands better than anyone the pressures of art school. He even helps Sabine get insight on Krell by showing her the modern master’s work in progress, a portrait that’s sold for a million dollars sight unseen.

Sabine is enthralled by the portrait; within those swirling, colorful layers of paint is the key to winning her inscrutable teacher’s approval. Krell did advise her to improve her craft by copying a painting she connects with . . . but what would he think of Sabine secretly painting her own version of his masterpiece? And what should she do when she accidentally becomes party to a crime so well -plotted that no one knows about it but her?

Complex and utterly original, What I Want You to See is a gripping tale of deception, attraction, and moral ambiguity.

“Linka delivers intrigue, betrayal, and a feast for art lovers.”―Mary McCoy, author of Printz Honor Book I, Claudia

*”Clear-sighted and heartbreakingly true, this is a genuine portrait of a girl in quiet crisis learning to see things as they are.”―Booklist (starred review)

“Tense, smart, and engaging . . . What I Want You to See is a stunning portrait of deception, artfully peeling back layers of secrets to reveal a meticulously crafted crime.”
Elle Cosimano, award-winning author of Nearly Gone

“A messy, heartbreaking and very real journey of learning to let others see who you truly are.”―Carrie Arcos, author of the National Book Award Finalist Out of Reach

“A stunning page-turner that will tear your heart and paste it back together.”
Kim Purcell, author of This is Not A Love Letter and Trafficked

Catherine-Linka-Headshot-12

About Catherine:

Catherine Linka has been immersed in books her whole life, most recently as a writer and bookseller. She’s the author of the young adult novel WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE as well as the dystopian duology A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS and A GIRL UNDONE. Catherine lives in Southern California and watches hawks and hummingbirds when she should be writing. 

 

Website | Twitter | InstagramFacebook | Goodreads 

 

Giveaway Details:

 

3 winners will win a signed finished copy of WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE, US Only.

 

Rafflecopter Embed Code:

 

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba21048/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”e2389ba21048″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_mm5zf4nr”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js


Rafflecopter link:

 

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba21048/?

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

2/3/2020 Texan Girl Reviews Excerpt
2/4/2020 What A Nerd Girl Says  Review
2/5/2020 Kait Plus Books Excerpt
2/6/2020 Savings in Seconds / @savingsinseconds Review
2/7/2020 Lifestyle of Me Review

 

Week Two:

2/10/2020 Do You Dog-ear? Review
2/11/2020 BookHounds YA  Excerpt
2/12/2020 fictitious.fox Review
2/13/2020 momfluenster Review
2/14/2020 Hurn Publications Review

 

Week Three:

2/17/2020 PopTheButterfly Reads Review
2/18/2020 A Bookish Escape/lindytgomez Review
2/19/2020 notinjersey Review
2/20/2020 Nerdophiles  Review
2/21/2020 Comfort Books Review

 

Week Four:

2/24/2020 She Just Loves Books  Review
2/25/2020 One in a Million Review
2/26/2020 Fyrekatz Review
2/27/2020 Two Points of Interest Review
2/28/2020 ChristenKrumm Review

Blood Awakens by Jessica Willis

BA_cover

Tour Schedule
February 17 – Paige @popthebutterfly
February 18 – JP @mr.pink.ink
February 19 – Stacie @borenbooks
February 20 – Jessaca
February 21 – CE @chelscey
February 22 – Jasmine @thefreckledmind
February 23 – Nikki @thereadingrebel
SYNOPSIS:

Supernatural powers, the end of the world, and blood. Lots of blood.

People called Sean a blood guide, though he never fully understood why. As far as he knew, he could hear heartbeats and heal people. It wasn’t until he walked in on his brother’s brutal murder that he learned of the darker nature of his power: blood speaks to him, and he to it. With a simple song, he can command it to do whatever he wants, and in that moment, he showed his brother’s murderers no mercy. Now Sean must fight to keep his inner demons in check and his path to redemption begins with the establishment of a sanctuary for people like him, people with powers, the Awakened.

Two years after the Awakening, after the wars that destroyed entire societies and brought about “the end of the world,” Graciela and her brother Santiago are struggling to survive. Graciela is one of many who never Awakened, but she’s watched as her brother’s power as an empath—the ability to sense other’s emotions—has brought him to the brink of death. Together, they set across Central America in search of a cure, or at the very least, safety in a crumbling, dangerous world. What they find is a sanctuary called Hope, the same one Sean governs.

But they soon discover that even from within the compounds of the sanctuary, no one is safe. Not when there are people in the world with unimaginable power and an insatiable bloodlust.

Fans of The Young Elites, Year One, and Shatter Me will devour this diverse post-apocalyptic paranormal fantasy.


Important note for readers: This book is “new adult” fantasy, with moderate violence, and one or two mild curse words, but otherwise appropriate for mature teenagers and older. There is no sex or drugs in this book.

AUTHOR BIO (if it’s too long, feel free to remove the second paragraph):

Growing up in the 90’s and early 2000’s, Jessaca spent her free time heavily immersed in books and shows such as Harry Potter, True Blood, The Sword of Truth/Legend of the Seeker, and Merlin, so much so that at one point she truly believed fantasy worlds were real (maybe she still does). Her passion for the unimaginable and the magnificent grew, leading Jessaca to a career in fantasy writing, with an inclination toward the dark, horror, paranormal, and dystopian/apocalyptic sub-genres.

Before she realized being an author was more than her own fantasy though, she was a wandering college student who believed in making the world a better place. She studied social work for her undergraduate and graduate degrees, and participated in a number of study abroad programs that led her to countries such as Guatemala, Italy, and Bolivia. So that her studies don’t become entirely useless, Jessaca draws heavily from her experiences abroad and from her education in human development, social institutions (race, gender, class, sexuality, etc.), mental health, and family roles, to incorporate into her novels and short stories.

Jessaca is a self-proclaimed nerd who loves cosplay, video games, and comics. She grew up and still lives in Portland, Oregon, where she resides with her partner and their fur- and human-babies.