Ember Queen by Laura Sebastian

Disclaimer: I bought my own copy and received one from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Ember Queen

Author: Laura Sebastian

Book Series: Ash Princess

Diversity: m/m relationship, f/f relationship, asexual main character

Rating: 5/5

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pages: 512

Recommended Age: 16+ (Rape mention, Gore, Violence, and One Sex scene)

Synopsis: The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.

The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

Review: I really enjoyed the ending to this trilogy! It was well developed, well built, and the book kept me on edge the entire time. I’m happy with Theo’s development and I’m satisfied with the ending.

The only issue I had was that the very end scene was a bit chaotic. I had to reread it twice to understand it.

Verdict: I love this series!

BOOK INFORMATION
Ember Queen (Ash Princess Trilogy #3)
by Laura Sebastia
Publisher: Delacorte Books For Young Readers
Release Date: February 4th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fiction, High Fantasy, Science Fiction, Magic, Epic Fantasy

Synopsis:

The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.

The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

BOOK LINKS
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39216077-ember-queen
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2SsOQVQ
Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Ember-Queen-Laura-Sebastian/9781509855162?ref=grid-view&qid=1581197022750&sr=1-1
Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ember-queen-laura-sebastian/1132077922?ean=9780593176863#/
iTunes: https://books.apple.com/au/book/ember-queen-ash-princess-3/id1487756107
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/ember-queen-3
Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Ember_Queen?id=28SdDwAAQBAJ&hl=en_US

AUTHOR INFORMATION
Laura Sebastian was born and raised in South Florida (the Redlands and Key Largo) and has always loved telling stories–many apologies to her little brother who often got in trouble because of them. No copies of her first book, a Cinderella retelling about angels circa 2nd grade, remain. Thankfully.

After getting her BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design, she moved to New York City thinking that she would stay for a couple of years before going somewhere better suited for a small-town, sun-loving girl. Five years later, she’s still here and madly in love with it.

When Laura isn’t writing, she’s probably reading, baking cookies or cupcakes, buying more clothes than her overstuffed closet can fit, or forcing her lazy dog Neville to take a walk.

Her debut ASH PRINCESS, the start of a YA fantasy trilogy, will be out April 24th, 2018 from Delacorte (Random House).

AUTHOR LINKS
Website: http://laurasebastianwrites.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15945524.Laura_Sebastian
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sebastian_lk
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lauraksebastian/

Frozen Beauty by Lexa Hillyer

tour banner

Disclaimer: I received an e-arc from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

 

Book: Frozen Beauty

 

Author: Lexa Hillyer

 

Book Series: Standalone

 

Rating: 4/5

 

Publication Date: March 17, 2020

 

Genre: YA Mystery

 

Recommended Age: 16+ (murder, mental health, mysteries abound!)

 

Publisher: HarperTeen

 

Pages: 368

 

Amazon Link

 

Synopsis: Everyone in Devil’s Lake knows the three golden Malloy sisters—but one of them is keeping a secret that will turn their little world inside out….

No one knows exactly what happened to Kit in the woods that night—all they have are a constellation of facts: icy blue lips and fingers cold to the touch, a lacy bra, an abandoned pick-up truck with keys still in the ignition. Still, Tessa, even in her fog of grief, is certain that her sister’s killer wasn’t Boyd, the boy next door whom they’ve all loved in their own way. There are too many details that don’t add up, too many secrets still tucked away.

But no matter how fiercely she searches for answers, at the core of that complicated night is a truth that’s heartbreakingly simple.

Told in lush, haunting prose, Frozen Beauty is a story of the intoxicating power of first love, the deep bonds of sisterhood, and a shocking death that will forever change the living.

 

Review: I thought this story was haunting and eerie. The book did well to focus on the two remaining sisters and the aftermath of their sister’s death. The character development was well done, the setting was well written.

 

However, I do feel like the book was a bit weird in the dialogue area and in how the characters interacted with each other. I also felt like the book was too slow. It also felt like everyone had a whole ton of issues and it was a bit too much for me.

 

Verdict: It was a great book regardless! Definitely recommend.

BOOK INFORMATION

Frozen Beauty

by Lexa Hillyer
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: March 17th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary

 

Synopsis:

 

Everyone in Devil’s Lake knows the three golden Malloy sisters—but one of them is keeping a secret that will turn their little world inside out….

 

No one knows exactly what happened to Kit in the woods that night—all they have are a constellation of facts: icy blue lips and fingers cold to the touch, a lacy bra, an abandoned pick-up truck with keys still in the ignition. Still, Tessa, even in her fog of grief, is certain that her sister’s killer wasn’t Boyd, the boy next door whom they’ve all loved in their own way. There are too many details that don’t add up, too many secrets still tucked away.

 

But no matter how fiercely she searches for answers, at the core of that complicated night is a truth that’s heartbreakingly simple.

 

Told in lush, haunting prose, Frozen Beauty is a story of the intoxicating power of first love, the deep bonds of sisterhood, and a shocking death that will forever change the living.

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43720997-frozen-beauty

Amazon: https://amzn.to/36JLrH9

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/frozen-beauty-lexa-hillyer/1130335631?ean=9780062330406#/

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/ca/book/frozen-beauty/id1462620537

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Frozen-Beauty-Lexa-Hillyer/9781094116969?ref=grid-view&qid=1580478714113&sr=1-1

Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Lexa_Hillyer_Frozen_Beauty?id=LgeYDwAAQBAJ

 

author

BOOK AUTHOR

Lexa Hillyer is the Founder and President of Publishing at Glasstown Entertainment, an all-womxn creative development and production company located in New York and Los Angeles. She is also the author of Frozen Beauty, Spindle Fire, Winter Glass, and Proof of Forever, all young adult novels published by HarperCollins, as well as the poetry collection Acquainted with the Cold from Bona Fide Books. Acquainted with the Cold was the 2012 gold prize winner of the Foreword Book of the Year Award for Poetry and received the Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize. Her work has been featured in a variety of journals and collections including Best New Poets 2012, and she has received several honors for poetry. Lexa earned her BA in English from Vassar College and her MFA in Poetry from Stonecoast at the University of Southern Maine. She worked as an editor at both HarperCollins and Penguin, before founding Glasstown Entertainment along with New York Times Bestselling author Lauren Oliver. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and daughter and their very skinny orange tree.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://www.lexahillyer.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4530256.Lexa_Hillyer

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lexa_Hillyer

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lexa.hillyer

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/proofoflex/