Ember Queen by Laura Sebastian for Fantastic Flying Book Club

Disclaimer: I bought my own copy and received one from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Ember Queen

Author: Laura Sebastian

Book Series: Ash Princess

Diversity: m/m relationship, f/f relationship, asexual main character

Rating: 5/5

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pages: 512

Recommended Age: 16+ (Rape mention, Gore, Violence, and One Sex scene)

Synopsis: The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.

The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

Review: I really enjoyed the ending to this trilogy! It was well developed, well built, and the book kept me on edge the entire time. I’m happy with Theo’s development and I’m satisfied with the ending.

The only issue I had was that the very end scene was a bit chaotic. I had to reread it twice to understand it.

Verdict: I love this series!

BOOK INFORMATION
Ember Queen (Ash Princess Trilogy #3)
by Laura Sebastia
Publisher: Delacorte Books For Young Readers
Release Date: February 4th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fiction, High Fantasy, Science Fiction, Magic, Epic Fantasy

Synopsis:

The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.

The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

BOOK LINKS
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39216077-ember-queen
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2SsOQVQ
Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Ember-Queen-Laura-Sebastian/9781509855162?ref=grid-view&qid=1581197022750&sr=1-1
Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ember-queen-laura-sebastian/1132077922?ean=9780593176863#/
iTunes: https://books.apple.com/au/book/ember-queen-ash-princess-3/id1487756107
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/ember-queen-3
Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Ember_Queen?id=28SdDwAAQBAJ&hl=en_US

AUTHOR INFORMATION
Laura Sebastian was born and raised in South Florida (the Redlands and Key Largo) and has always loved telling stories–many apologies to her little brother who often got in trouble because of them. No copies of her first book, a Cinderella retelling about angels circa 2nd grade, remain. Thankfully.

After getting her BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design, she moved to New York City thinking that she would stay for a couple of years before going somewhere better suited for a small-town, sun-loving girl. Five years later, she’s still here and madly in love with it.

When Laura isn’t writing, she’s probably reading, baking cookies or cupcakes, buying more clothes than her overstuffed closet can fit, or forcing her lazy dog Neville to take a walk.

Her debut ASH PRINCESS, the start of a YA fantasy trilogy, will be out April 24th, 2018 from Delacorte (Random House).

AUTHOR LINKS
Website: http://laurasebastianwrites.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15945524.Laura_Sebastian
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sebastian_lk
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lauraksebastian/