The Plain Janes by Cecil Casellucci

Disclaimer: I received this book from TheNovl! Thanks! All opinions are my own.

 

Book: The Plain Janes

 

Author: Cecil Castellucci

 

Book Series: Janes Book 1-2 and Janes Attack Back

 

Rating: 5/5

 

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

 

Publication Date: January 7, 2020

 

Genre: Graphic Novel Contemporary

 

Recommended Age: 15+ (bombing TW, terroristic threats mention TW, hijinks and law breaking behavior in the name of art!)

 

Pages: 336

 

Amazon Link

 

Synopsis: Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

 

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

 

But for Main Jane, the group is more than just a simple act of teenaged rebellion, it’s an act of survival. She’s determined not to let fear rule her life like it does her parents’ and neighbors’. Armed with her sketchbook and a mission of resistance, she’s out to prove that true passion and a group of good friends can save anyone from the hell that is high school.

 

Includes the original two installments of the cult classic graphic novel The Plain Janes–The Plain Janes and Janes in Love–plus a never-before-seen third story, Janes Attack Back. And it gets even better: In the final book, each part will be printed in its own distinct color, because there’s nothing plain about these Janes.

 

Review: This book was amazing! I loved how the book was wrote in graphic novel form and I think it really enhanced the theme of how important art is to everyone. Art is everywhere and this book really highlights that fact. The book had amazing character development, especially for our main character, and it did well to discuss sensitive topics. The plot is also very well developed and immediately engrosses you.

 

The only issue with the book is that the pacing is very fast, so if you’re not usually one for graphic novels it’ll throw you off balance. The book also ends on a cliffhanger but I’m so pumped for book 2 (3? I’m confused as I had two books in one arc but I think it was one book lol).

 

Verdict: Amazing graphic novel series about art!