The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Stanley

Disclaimer: I received this e-arc from the publisher and netgalley. Thanks! All opinions are my own!

 

Book: The Redpoint Crux

 

Author: Morgan Shamy

 

Book Series: Standalone

 

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Recommended For…: Phantom of the Opera retelling lovers and mystery readers

 

Publication Date: June 9, 2020

 

Genre: YA Mystery

 

Recommended Age: 16+ (violence, death, gore, verbal abuse TW, mental health)

 

Publisher: The Parliament House

 

Pages: 290

 

Synopsis: When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.

 

Review: For the most part this was a good book. The characters were well developed and world building was well done. The book did well to discuss the sensitive topics of mental health in my opinion and the murders definitely held my intrigue.

 

However, I thought that there was too much telling the reader what happens instead of showing it. The book also had funky writing. Like, some of the sad moments didn’t feel sad? It was kinda weird. The book also was a bit too fast for me. I also felt like there was a lot going on for this type of book and felt like it either neither to be expanded and slowed down or broke up into other books.

 

Verdict: It was a good book!

 

BOOK INFORMATION
The Redpoint Crux
by Morgan Shamy
Publisher: The Parliament House
Release Date: June 9th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery

Synopsis:

Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut.

When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deathly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.

BOOK LINKS
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42188304-the-redpoint-crux
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2wLv2Gi
B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-redpoint-crux-morgan-shamy/1136391533?ean=2940163782178
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/the-redpoint-crux
Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=ThTPDwAAQBAJ&rdid=book-ThTPDwAAQBAJ&rdot=1&source=gbs_atb&pcampaignid=books_booksearch_atb

AUTHOR INFORMATION
Morgan Shamy is an ex-ballerina turned YA writer. She is represented by Kelly Peterson of Rees Literary Agency.

Morgan has been immersed in the arts since the young age of 4, where she trained under the tutelage of Julie and Stacey Orlob. She performed various roles alongside a professional ballet company for over seven years, and has danced on prestigious stages like soloing at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

She has taught hundreds of girls in her fifteen years of teaching, where some of her students have received full-ride scholarships to schools like School of American Ballet, the Harid Conservatory, Kirov Academy of Ballet, and Pacific Northwest Ballet, to name a few.

Morgan discovered writing when her three-year-old son was diagnosed with cancer. It was through that experience which instilled the need to share art and magic with children through words on the page. Morgan currently lives with her X-Games gold-medalist husband and four children in the cold mountains of Alaska.

AUTHOR LINKS
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18494856.Morgan_Shamy
Website: https://www.morganshamy.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MorganShamy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MorganShamy1/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/morgan_shamy/?hl=en

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s