The Heart of the Phoenix King by Joanna White (apart of the Glimpses of Time and Magic Anthology)

Tour Schedule:

January 4 – Paige @popthebutterfly
January 5 – JP
January 6 – Marizaan @south_african_fangirl
January 7 – Ode Ray @authoroderay
January 8 – Ciara @ciara_writes_and_reads

History is quite a fascinating thing. We know the stories that have been told to us since we were children, but there are secrets… Magical secrets that are desperate to be revealed.

Pompeii was a tragedy the world will never forget, but what really caused the volcanic eruption that ended it all?

Why was the great sword Excalibur really destroyed?

The rolling hills of Victorian England seem peaceful enough, but what secrets really lurk there?

And would it surprise you that there are darker secrets in Ancient Rome than people ever dreamed?

If the Great Fog of London isn’t what it seems?

You think you know Harry Houdini, but do you know the man behind all the tricks?

And what if the mystery of Roanaoke runs deeper than you could ever imagine?

Could Ireland’s potato famine really be caused by a mage gone mad?

What if a ghost ship off the coast of England was more than a phantom?

Want to find out the secrets behind each of these stories? Read nine exciting tales where history and magic collide from authors Michaela Baker, James Quinlan Meservy, Ariel Paiement, Joshua Reid, Alicia Scarborough, Maria Vermisoglou, Joanna White, Kandi J. Wyatt, and Sara Zagorski.

Queen of Empire by H.R. Moore

Disclaimer: I received this ebook from the author. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Queen of Empire

Author: H.R. Moore

Book Series: The Relic Trilogy

Rating: 4/5

Recommended For…: romance lovers, fantasy lovers

Publication Date: August 17, 2013

Genre: Romance Fantasy

Recommended Age: 18+ (romance, sexual content, slight violence and gore)

Publisher: Harriet Moore

Pages: 358

Synopsis: A fantasy romance trilogy perfect for fans of Crescent City.

Anita has never been ordinary, she’s been special her entire life; not only can she see the energy of others, a rare skill, but she’s won every Body challenge she’s ever entered. So when the powerful, good looking Descendants, Marcus and Alexander, mysteriously arrive in Empire, her difference attracts and keeps their attention.

Once in Empire, the sudden death of ruling Body Descendant, Christiana, sets in motion a number of events; a quest for the treacherous Austin to find the girl Christiana had been looking for; a challenge where Anita stands out more vibrantly than ever before; a perilous dip in the world’s energy; and a dangerous belief among the people that they will never truly be free.

Powerful factions soon form within the ruling elite and when a trusted friend and mentor reaches out to ask for Anita’s help, she has to make a choice; help her friend and betray the one she loves, or do nothing and watch the people starve.

Review: For the most part this book was really interesting. I loved the aspect of the book and the pacing was really well done for a romance heavy book. The world building was also fairly well detailed and I loved how the book was not all about the romance, but had a lot of heavy fantasy moments in it as well.

The only issue I really had was the character development. I felt like the development of the main character was a little dependent on the romance and that there could have been more character development.

Verdict: Recommend if you’re looking for some fantasy in your romance!

Tour Schedule:

January 4 – Paige @popthebutterfly
January 5 – Jasmine @thefreckledmind
January 6 – JP
January 7 – Candy @purpleshadowhunter

Bunny Call by Scott Cawthon, Elley Cooper, Andrea Waggener

Disclaimer: I bought this book. Support your authors and your indie game creators!

Book: Bunny Call

Author: Scott Cawthon, Elley Cooper, Andrea Waggener

Book Series: Five Nights at Freddy’s: Fazbear Frights Book 5

Rating: 5/5

Recommended For…: horror fans, FNAF fans

Publication Date: September 1, 2020

Genre: Horror

Recommended Age: 10+ (gore, slight violence, scary moments)

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Pages: 224

Synopsis: From twisted toys to gut-wrenching games, this collection of terrifying tales is unsettling enough to mess with even the most hardened Five Nights at Freddy’s fans. In this volume, series creator Scott Cawthon spins three sinister novella-length stories from different corners of FNAF’s canon. Each story comes complete with accompanying artwork from a fan-favorite game artist to bring the horror to life in a whole new way.

Readers beware: In this startling world, desperate wishes have an unexpected cost, beautiful trinkets reveal appalling powers, and harmless pranks can go awry in ghastly ways.

Review: I’m so sad that this is the last book (until the next one releases next year) for now. The FNAF books are so spooky and it’s getting me so excited for the next video game installment of the series. I’m also loving the lore! I am a lore hunter and I work very hard to understand the story behind the story. The book had a great plot, the stories were cohesive and spooky, the characters were well developed, and the atmosphere of the book was scary.

The only thing I disliked about the book is that the pacing was a bit too fast in two of the stories and there was a fatphobic comment in one of the stories.

Verdict: I love this series!