Loveless by Alice Oseman

Disclaimer: I received this arc from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Loveless

Author: Alice Oseman

Book Series: Standalone

Rating: 4/5

Diversity: Queer characters, asexual aromantic MC, Indian non-binary gay asexual character, Colombian lesbian character, bisexual aromantic character

Recommended For…: young adult readers, contemporary, romance, LGBT

Publication Date: Originally published July 9, 2020, republished March 1, 2022

Genre: YA Contemporary

Age Relevance: 16+ (romance, alcohol consumption, language, HP mentions, sexual content, bullying, homophobia)

Explanation of Above: There is romance in the book and sexual content, including kissing, masturbation discussed, sex discussed, and other sexual acts discussed. There is cursing in the book and there are 2 HP mentions. There is also a lot of alcohol consumption and scenes of characters being drunk. There is bullying mentioned and homophobia in the book.

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Pages: 393

Synopsis: Georgia has never been in love, never kissed anyone, never even had a crush – but as a fanfic-obsessed romantic she’s sure she’ll find her person one day.

As she starts university with her best friends, Pip and Jason, in a whole new town far from home, Georgia’s ready to find romance, and with her outgoing roommate on her side and a place in the Shakespeare Society, her ‘teenage dream’ is in sight.

But when her romance plan wreaks havoc amongst her friends, Georgia ends up in her own comedy of errors, and she starts to question why love seems so easy for other people but not for her. With new terms thrown at her – asexual, aromantic – Georgia is more uncertain about her feelings than ever.

Is she destined to remain loveless? Or has she been looking for the wrong thing all along?

Review: I really loved this book! I thought the message of finding your sexuality and identity a very well done one. I loved  seeing Georgia’s journey and it’s a super informative book with websites at the end that will be helpful to anyone who needs help. The book is also messy, but it’s a relatable mess because finding your identity isn’t a neat journey. It’s full of bumps and twists and turns. And sometimes you think you’re one way, but you’re really another. The character development was also well done and the world building was great too. I overall really loved the story and can’t wait to read more of Alice Oseman’s books.

However, I did have a severe issue with the HP mentions in the book, considering the author’s problematic nature. The book talks about acceptance and I get this is an earlier published book that is just being republished, so I didn’t take down the points I normally would, but JKR is not accepting and if you want a book, especially one that has LGBT characters, it’s time to leave those references in the past and I wish those were left out in the re-publishing.

Verdict: It was good! Highly recommend!

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the LOVELESS by Alice Oseman Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: LOVELESS

Author: Alice Oseman

Pub. Date: March 1, 2022

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 432

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, AudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

For fans of Love, Simon and I Wish You All the Best, a funny, honest, messy, completely relatable story of a girl who realizes that love can be found in many ways that don’t involve sex or romance.

From the marvelous author of Heartstopper comes an exceptional YA novel about discovering that it’s okay if you don’t have sexual or romantic feelings for anyone . . . since there are plenty of other ways to find love and connection.

This is the funny, honest, messy, completely relatable story of Georgia, who doesn’t understand why she can’t crush and kiss and make out like her friends do. She’s surrounded by the narrative that dating + sex = love. It’s not until she gets to college that she discovers the A range of the LGBTQIA+ spectrum — coming to understand herself as asexual/aromantic. Disrupting the narrative that she’s been told since birth isn’t easy — there are many mistakes along the way to inviting people into a newly found articulation of an always-known part of your identity. But Georgia’s determined to get her life right, with the help of (and despite the major drama of) her friends. 

 

INSERT YOUR POST OR REVIEW HERE!

 

About Alice Oseman:

Alice Oseman was born in 1994 in Kent, England. She graduated from Durham University and is the author of YA contemporaries Solitaire, Radio Silence, and I Was Born for This. Visit Alice online at aliceoseman.com or on Twitter @AliceOseman.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 





Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of LOVELESS, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

2/28/2022

Nonbinary Knight Reads

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

2/28/2022

BookHounds YA

Excerpt

2/28/2022

Rajiv’s Reviews

Review/IG Post

3/1/2022

@badlandsbooks_

Review

3/1/2022

Nerdophiles

Review

3/1/2022

@booksaremagictoo

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

3/1/2022

Kait Plus Books

Excerpt

3/2/2022

Dana’s Book Garden

Review

3/2/2022

Reading Wordsmith

Review/IG Post

3/2/2022

@thebookishfoxwitch

Review

3/3/2022

popthebutterfly

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

3/3/2022

Emelie’s Books

Review

3/3/2022

patrickfromperks

TikTok Review or Spotlight

3/4/2022

@emmreadsbooks

Review/IG Post

3/4/2022

onemused

Review/IG Post

3/4/2022

A Bookish Dream

Review/IG Post

Week Two:

3/7/2022

Midnightbooklover

Review

3/7/2022

Eli to the nth

Review

3/7/2022

The Bookwyrm’s Den

Review

3/8/2022

YABooksCentral

Excerpt

3/8/2022

Utopia State of Mind

Review/IG Post

3/8/2022

Two Points of Interest

Review

3/9/2022

Not In Jersey

Review/IG Post

3/9/2022

More Books Please blog

Review/IG Post

3/9/2022

@drewsim12

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

3/10/2022

Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers

Review/IG Post

3/10/2022

Celia’s Reads-blog

Review/IG Post

3/10/2022

@coffeesipsandreads

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

3/11/2022

Zainey Laney in all 3

Review/IG Post/TikTok Post

3/11/2022

My Fictional Oasis

Review