Killing Time by Brenna Ehrlich

Disclaimer: I received this e-arc from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Killing Time

Author: Brenna Ehrlich

Book Series: Standalone

Rating: 3/5

Recommended For…: young adult readers, mystery books, thriller reads, true crime like

Publication Date: March 8, 2022

Genre: YA MysteryThriller

Age Relevance: 17+ (death, animal death, language, sexism, gore, violence, stalking, sexual content, alcohol consumption, grief)

Explanation of Above: There is death and murder in this book and the book discusses a lot of it. There is one particular scene where an animal’s death is graphically described and it’s off-putting. There is some sexism and stalking shown in the book, as well as some briefly mentioned sexual content related to sex offenders and sexting. There is gore and violence in the book and some alcohol consumption. There is also grief shown in the book.

Publisher: Inkyard Press

Pages: 336

Synopsis: Summer in Ferry, Connecticut, has always meant long, lazy days at the beach and wild nights partying in the abandoned mansions on the edge of town. Until now, that is.
 
Natalie Temple, who’s never been one for beaches or parties in the first place, is reeling from the murder of her favorite teacher, and there’s no way this true-crime-obsessed girl is going to sit back and let the rumor mill churn out lie after lie—even if she has to hide her investigation from her disapproving mom and team up with the new boy in town…
 
But the more Natalie uncovers, the more she realizes some secrets were never meant to be told. 

Review: For the most part this was an ok book. I really liked the premise and it seemed to be a good book at first. The book did good to show the two separate cases and present them well. The book also had me intrigued with the podcast angle.

However, I felt like the book was just bad. It had a lot of promise, which is why it’s a 3/5 and why I kept reading it instead of DNFing it, but I really did not like the book. The book has a back and forth between the past and the present and in a couple of chapters I noticed that sometimes we slipped into the past while we were in the present chapters, but overall the format was confusing and I didn’t really like having two separate stories going on at once. I felt like the characters, aside from the side characters, weren’t well developed and the world building was non-existent. I also felt like the pacing was just all over the place. I also very much disliked the animal gore that was shown in the book.

Verdict: It was not for me.

Killing Time  

Brenna Ehrlich

On Sale Date: March 8, 2022

9781335418678

Hardcover

$18.99 USD

336 pages

About the Book:

Killing Time follows a true-crime obsessed teenage girl who sets out to uncover a killer when her favorite teacher is murdered. With a dual POV that sends the reader back twenty years, this engrossing and twisty thriller is perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Karen McManus.

Summer in Ferry, Connecticut has always meant long, lazy days at the beach and wild nights partying in the abandoned mansions on the edge of town. Until now, that is.

Natalie Temple’s favorite teacher has been murdered, and there’s no way this true-crime obsessed girl is going to sit back and let the rumor mill churn out lie after lie. Not if she has anything to say about it – even if she has to hide her investigation from her disapproving mom and team up with a new boy in town with a mysterious smile and a talent for making fake IDs.

But the more Natalie uncovers, the more she realizes some secrets were never meant to be told.

With two interwoven mysteries, Killing Time is a deathly warning to a generation of murderinos: what happens when the stories we’re chasing finally catch up with us?

About the Author:

Brenna Ehrlich is a journalist, YA author, and editor who has worked everywhere from MTV News to Rolling Stone. She resides in New Jersey with her husband Morgan and their two cats, Nimbus and Hazel. She enjoys horror movies and romcoms in equal measure.

Social Links:

Author website: https://www.brennaehrlich.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BrennaEhrlich

IG: https://www.instagram.com/brennaehrlich/

Buy Links:

Bookshop.org: https://bookshop.org/books/killing-time-9781335418678/9781335418678 

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/killing-time-brenna-ehrlich/1139262919;jsessionid=77463C2A28F769B395869EB9A2D55A2B.prodny_store02-atgap11?ean=9781335418678&st=AFF&2sid=HarperCollins%20Publishers%20LLC_7310909_NA&sourceId=AFFHarperCollins%20Publishers%20LLC 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/1335418679?tag=harpercollinsus-20 

Books-a-Million: https://www.booksamillion.com/p/9781335418678?AID=10747236&PID=7310909&cjevent=7996a3e08f9311ec82814d540a82b824 

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781335418678 

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Killing_Time?id=8JEpEAAAQBAJ&hl=en_US&gl=US 

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/killing-time-87 

Apple Books: https://books.apple.com/ch/book/killing-time/id1563212004 

The Mary Shelley Club by Goldy Moldavsky

Disclaimer: I received this book from Once Upon A Book Box Club as a part of their April 2021 box. Thanks! All opinions are my own and support your authors!

Book: The Mary Shelley Club

Author: Goldy Moldavsky

Book Series: Standalone for now

Rating: 4/5

Diversity: Latinx MC and character, pansexual character mentioned, m/m romance and character.

Recommended For…: young adult readers, thriller, murder mystery, horror

Publication Date: April 13, 2021

Genre: YA Thriller Horror

Age Relevance: 16+ (Home Invasion, bullying, fatphobia, gore, violence, murder, stalking, drugs mentioned, language, grief, death, underage alcohol consumption, sexual content, romance, sexual assault, PTSD)

Explanation of Above: The beginning of the book shows a home invasion and the events of the traumatic incident replay in the MCs head throughout the book. There is a lot of bullying in the book and some mentions of fatphobia in the form of a term of endearment (the endearment term from the MCs mother means ham in English). There is gore, violence, and murder in the book, as well as stalking and death and grief. There is some cursing in the book. There is a scene where teenagers drink alcohol and drugs are mentioned a few times in that scene. There is some romance and small sexual content. There is also a very small sexual assault shown in the book where a character is touched without permission on her breasts.

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company

Pages: 466

Synopsis: New girl Rachel Chavez is eager to make a fresh start at Manchester Prep. But as one of the few scholarship kids, Rachel struggles to fit in, and when she gets caught up in a prank gone awry, she ends up with more enemies than friends.

To her surprise, however, the prank attracts the attention of the Mary Shelley Club, a secret club of students with one objective: come up with the scariest prank to orchestrate real fear. But as the pranks escalate, the competition turns cutthroat and takes on a life of its own.

When the tables are turned and someone targets the club itself, Rachel must track down the real-life monster in their midst . . . even if it means finally confronting the dark secrets from her past.

Review: The book was really good! I loved this murder mystery thriller book. The twists were well done, the book had a great storyline that kept me guessing, and that ending was a WTF from me. I feel unnerved by the book but also curious as to what happens next and I hope the author makes a book 2. The characters are well developed and the world building was well done. I also loved the horror movie references and I firmly believe if you’re a horror movie lover than you need to read this book.

There were some issues with the book while I was reading it. There was a moment where I was uncomfortable with a description of a female presenting teenage body as “grown” and that “she was definitely on the menu and he was starving”. The book has a weird POV switching when the fear tests are shown. The ending also doesn’t have a lead-up but I think that makes it even scarier.

Verdict: I love it! Highly recommend.