Storm from the East by Joanna Hathaway

 

Disclaimer: I received an arc of this from the publisher. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Storm of the East

Author: Joanna Hathaway

Book Series: Glass Alliance Book 2

Rating: 4/5

Publication Date: February 11, 2020

Publisher: TorTeen

Recommended Age: 16+ (violence, some gore, politics, and some love)

Synopsis: Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

Review: This was a great sequel to the first book! The book has a lot of political intrique and romance still. Still has some WW2 and Romeo and Juliet vibes as well. The characters are much more developed in this one and the plot was very well continued from the previous book to.this one.

This book is very politically centered though so if you don’t like that then it might not be your type of book. The book is also still slow paced.

Verdict: I love the politics!

BOOK INFORMATION

Storm from the East (Glass Alliance #2)

by Joanna Hathaway
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: February 11th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, High Fantasy

Synopsis:

Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Joanna Hathaway’s stunning, World Wars-inspired sequel to Dark of the West

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second novel in Joanna Hathaway’s immersive, upmarket YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Evelyn Skye.

War has begun, and the days of Athan’s and Aurelia’s secret, summer romance feel a world away. Led by Athan’s father, the revolutionary Safire have launched a secret assault upon the last royal kingdom in the South, hoping to depose the king and seize a powerful foothold on the continent. Athan proves a star pilot among their ranks, struggling to justify the violence his family has unleashed as he fights his way to the capital—where, unbeknownst to him, Aurelia has lived since the war’s onset. Determined to save the kingdom Athan has been ordered to destroy, she partners with a local journalist to inflame anti-Safire sentiment, all while learning this conflict might be far darker and more complex than she ever imagined.

When the two reunite at last, Athan longing to shake the nightmare of combat and Aurelia reeling from the discovery of a long-buried family truth come to light, they’ll find the shadow of war stretches well beyond the battlefield. Each of them longs to rekindle the love they once shared . . . but each has a secret they’re desperate to hide.

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45043929-storm-from-the-east

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2RoNSv0

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/storm-from-the-east-joanna-hathaway/1131253787;jsessionid=63C9017C6FE19F8CEB83D5887DAACC13.prodny_store02-atgap12?ean=9780765396464

Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/author/Joanna-Hathaway

iTunes: https://books.apple.com/us/book/storm-from-the-east/id1461771523

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/storm-from-the-east-1

Google Books: https://books.google.co.uk/books?vid=ISBN9780765396464&redir_esc=y

AUTHOR (7)

AUTHOR INFORMATION

JOANNA HATHAWAY was born in Montréal and is an avid storyteller who was inspired to write after reading her great-grandfather’s memoirs of the First World War. A lifelong history buff, she now has shelves filled with biographies and historical accounts, and perhaps one too many books about pilots. She can often be found reading, traveling, or riding horses.

Her debut novel DARK OF THE WEST is the first in a World Wars-infused fantasy series of forbidden love and deadly revenge. STORM FROM THE EAST will hit shelves on February 11, 2020.

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://www.joannachathaway.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16071792.Joanna_Hathaway
Twitter: https://twitter.com/hathawayjojo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/spitfirewriter/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.es/pequenotigre/dark-of-the-west/

Dark of the West by Joanna Hathaway

Disclaimer: I got this book in a @beaconbookbox box. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Dark of the West

Author: Joanna Hathaway

Book Series: Glass Alliance Book 1

Rating: 4/4

Publication Date: February 5, 2019

Publisher: TorTeen

Recommended Age: 16+ (gore, violence, some sexual content)

Synopsis: Aurelia Isendare is a princess of a small kingdom in the North, raised in privilege but shielded from politics as her brother prepares to step up to the throne. Halfway around the world, Athan Dakar, the youngest son of a ruthless general, is a fighter pilot longing for a life away from the front lines. When Athan’s mother is shot and killed, his father is convinced it’s the work of his old rival, the Queen of Etania—Aurelia’s mother. Determined to avenge his wife’s murder, he devises a plot to overthrow the Queen, a plot which sends Athan undercover to Etania to gain intel from her children.

Athan’s mission becomes complicated when he finds himself falling for the girl he’s been tasked with spying upon. Aurelia feels the same attraction, all the while desperately seeking to stop the war threatening to break between the Southern territory and the old Northern kingdoms that control it—a war in which Athan’s father is determined to play a role. As diplomatic ties manage to just barely hold, the two teens struggle to remain loyal to their families and each other as they learn that war is not as black and white as they’ve been raised to believe.

Review: This book was beautiful from start to finish! This is definitely a romance lovers book but also a great book for those who like WW2 era books. It was never really confirmed if this is WW2 themed but it has that definite feel about it. The book is absolutely lovely and amazing well plotted.

My only issues were that the book is very slow in my opinion and that the writing makes reading this book a bit confusing. It was just very poetic writing that didn’t vibe well with my brain.

Verdict: A wonderfully well done tale.