Dear Future Self by Lisa Becker

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Dear Future Self

Author: Lisa Becker

Book Series: A Starfish Novella

Rating: 4/5

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

Genre: Romance

Recommended Age: 18+ (love and mature scenes)

Publisher: Indie Published

Pages: 87

Amazon Link

Synopsis: People think they know Jase Connors: Former front man for Kings Quarters. Successful solo artist. Consummate playboy. What they don’t know is he’s tired from road life. Tired of road life. Just plain tired.

When a beloved high school teacher passes away, Jase returns to his Midwestern childhood home to honor the teacher’s final wishes. Sparks fly when he’s reunited with his childhood best friend, Cami, and is forced to confront choices that made him the man he is today.

Dear Future Self is a 23,000-word novella spin-off of award-winning Starfish: A Rock Star Romance. It can be read as a stand-alone and guarantees a happily ever after. For mature readers only.

Review: Another romance read (out of my regular genre) but a book that is so powerful that it made me devour it in one sitting. The book is a short romance book that touches on loneliness even when you’re at the top of the food chain. I really liked the connection to the previous novel (Starfish) and I definitely liked seeing the character development in this one. The writing was also very well done.

My only complaint is that the book was a bit slow paced for me, but it’s a romance so those usually are slower lol. The book was also really short and I felt like the book could have easily went another 50 pages with what it had, but that’s just my opinion.

Verdict: A well done romance novel!